The Team

We are a group of researchers and students working on marine robotics and perception.

Blair Thornton

Professor of Marine Autonomy

Faculty of Engineering and Physical Science (FEPS)

School of Engineering

Department of Civil, Maritime and Environmental Engineering (CMEE)

Groups & Institutes


Editorial roles

Adrian Bodenmann

Senior Research Assistant

Teaching contributions

Sam Simmons

Research Technician

CMMI Marine Robotics Research Technician (2022 start)

David Stanley

PhD student

PhD (2018 start: CTD-SIS)

Emma Curtis

PhD student

PhD (2020 start: NERC Inspire)

Cailei Liang

PhD student

PhD (2023 start: CSC Scholarship)

Sam Fenton

PhD student

PhD (2023 start: Sonardyne and SMMI sponsored)

Sarah Stevens

PhD student

PhD (2023 start: INSPIRE)


PhD (2019-2023 Sonardyne Int. Ltd. and LTDS)

Research Technician (2020-2021)

PhD (2017 - 2022: NEXUS and LTDS)

Student poster winner: UT2019 Taiwan

3 minute thesis competition 2019: UoS finalist and People choice award winner

(2017 - 2020 )

Student poster winner: Oceans 2018 Kobe, Japan

PhD (2018 -2021: Japanese government scholarship)

Research Fellow (2018 -2019)

MEng 2019, UG project 2018

Analysis of Uncertainty in Laser-Scanned Bathymetric Map (conference paper here) awarded the 2018 SMI Donald Maxwell Award

Team Photos

Team members during 2021 awayday to GoApe: (Top from left) Takaki Yamada, Blair Thornton, Jonathan Boschen-Rose, (Bottom from left) David Stanley, Miquel Massot-Campos, Emma Curtis, Jenny Walker, Jose Cappelletto, Adrian Bodenmann

Team members in 2019 onboard DY109/BioCam on RRS Discovery. Bottom row from left (UoS) David Stanley, Takaki Yamada, Blair Thornton, Jose Cappelletto, Adrian Bodenmann, Miquel Massot Campos and top row from left (NOC MARS) Richard Austin-Berry, Phil Bagley, Rachel Marlow, Eoin O Hobain, Owain Shepherd

Team members in 2018 onboard the R/V Falkor, FK180731, Left to right: Tomoko Takahashi, Kazunori Nagano, Jennifer Walker, Adrian Bodenmann, Tetsu Koike, Blair Thornton, Miquel Massot, Jin Wei Lim, Yuya Nishida, Kiminori Shitashima